Dead or Alive? Part 2

The object of my interest this time round is my internal hard drive. After an overnight copy to tranfer files to my portable hard disk, it died about 1 week back.

No heartbeat at all. Nor did it twitch after swaping power cables and connectors. Death to the max.

Fortunately, Windows 7 beta was just very very slow in booting up as it did not get a response from the spolit drive. And I have to count my blessings that I was still using the old drive as the main one else it’s a dead PC.

Interestingly the warranty and return form states to erase private and confidential data which was impossible for me since the drive no longer whirls.

Timing was very crucial to me in this case. Am flying to Amsterdam once more and got like 7 days to get a replacement which the website stated it takes 3 – 7 working days. Called the support line, wrote on the return form and emailed. Thankfully they were able to expediate and I got my drive in time to test and verify.

Which gives me the perfect window to reinstall to use Windows 7 Release Candidate x64 bit version. Whilst I have no chance to really test the OS out, it does looks promising despite a cranky 64 bit version Internet Explorer.

So hopefully this replacement will last longer than 4 months…

This entry was posted in Passing Moment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

