Keukenhof

Literal translation in Dutch is Kitchen Garden, and also known as the Garden of Europe. I made a trip to visit this lovely park on the last opening day this year on 21 May, a day I will remember by since my maternal grandmother passed away while I was viewing flowers.

Instead of the tourist approach to take a train to Leiden or Schiphol Lisse and then take a bus to the park, I was guided by my boss and his wife (she’s also a colleague) to cycle over. Well, only my boss really cycled over (70 km!), the 2 of us actually took a train down to Nieuw Vennep, a stop before Leiden and cycled the remaining distance.

Bicycle/Bike Parking

Bicycle/Bike Parking

So after an hour of leisure pace cycling of about 11 km, we reached Keukenhof, parked our bikes and started to walk around the park.

Fair Music

Fair Music

Over at the entrance there was this big musical organ and food stalls selling drinks, ice-cream and waffles. And that was not the only spot, they were found everywhere within the park at designated rest and dining areas.

I had one friend who went to this very same park 2 weeks back as part of her tour, she definitely had better photos of the flowers around. For me, the fields of tulips were gone, beheaded was the favorite word used here since the bulbs were all removed. Despite missing the most stunning view, there were still lots of flowers around the park, hence I took over 200 shots.

Stripped Fields

Stripped Fields

Flowers and Visitors

Flowers and Visitors

Still the park is a peaceful, quiet, comfortable place to walk about. There are lots of tall trees, ponds, greenhouses, with plenty of resting spots, benches, chairs to make full use of.

Remaining Tulips

Remaining Tulips

All in all, I found the trip very enriching and hoped that I will get a chance to revisit when the flowers are looking their very best.

PS. The better looking flower shots are posted into my Flickr site under Flowers collection.

This entry was posted in Passing Moment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

